Deactivating your LinkedIn account means deleting your profile permanently. This means access to all of your information from the site will be removed. Having a Premium account can be canceled, but your free, or basic, account can be kept to retain your profile, connections, and other information.

deactivating linkedin

When you deactivate your account, the website will make you choose a reason that includes “I am getting too many emails” or “I am not getting any value from my membership” for example. You will also have the option to write your own reason for canceling the membership in the option labeled “other.”

If you want to close your LinkedIn account, here are the steps:

  1. Click the “Me” icon at top of your LinkedIn homepage.
  2. Select “Settings & Privacy” from the drop-down.
  3. Under the “Subscriptions” section, click “Change” next to “Closing your LinkedIn Account”.
  4. Check the reason for closing your account and click “Next”.
  5. Enter your account password and click “Close” account.

You can also close your account directly from the Close Account page.

Before you do, please note:

  • You won’t have access to your connections or any information you’ve added to your account.
  • Your profile will no longer be visible on LinkedIn.
  • Search engines like Yahoo, Bing, and Google may still display your information temporarily due to the way they collect and update their search data.
  • You’ll lose all recommendations and endorsements you’ve collected on your LinkedIn profile, so you may want to download a copy of your data before you close your account with us.
  • If you have a premium membership, own a LinkedIn group, or have a premium account license, you’ll have to resolve those accounts before being able to close your Basic account.
  • If you’ve created more than one account, learn how to delete or merge a duplicate account.

You can reopen your account in most cases if it’s been closed for less than 20 days.

  • Endorsements and recommendations
  • Ignored or pending invitations
  • Followings (influencers, companies, etc.)
  • Group memberships

With all of this said, I do not recommend deactivating your LinkedIn account if you are a professional. Most of us are professionals and need to work. This platform is made for us.